In Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

Posted January 20, 2014 by Kim in 5 Stars, In Review / 2 Comments

In Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Publication date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: eARC, 384 pages
How I got it: Edelweiss
Add it: Goodreads
Buy it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
My rating:

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

divider_bluegold

in review my thoughts

With 2013 and early 2014 bringing the end of several of my favorite YA series, I was on the hunt for a couple new favorites when I hit Edelweiss a few months back. The cover for Uninvited drew me in right away. I’d never read any of Sophie Jordan’s books and the synopsis for this one sounded so freaking good, I couldn’t pass it up. I’m so glad I didn’t. I have a new favorite series, y’all.

I love a good dystopian and Uninvited is just that. The world-building was superb, the premise unique and so very interesting, the character development excellent and the writing nothing short of wonderful. It’s difficult to say much about this book without giving anything away and I definitely don’t want to do that, so I’m going to keep this short and sweet. And vague.

“Every once in awhile, the girl I used to be rouses her head and wants all those things she had before. Friends. Freedom. A boy who looks at her and touches her with lingering hands.”

Davy made a near-perfect protagonist. Where she started the book much like any normal teenager, her life took a drastic turn when test came back positive for HTS (Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She quickly found herself in a world she didn’t recognize. Her friends abandoned her. Her boyfriend became a real jackass. Her family is scared of her. She can kiss her future plans goodbye. Everyone is just waiting for her to step across the line and prove she’s exactly what they fear: a killer. The only person who understands her is the mysterious Sean, a fellow HTS carrier. But even that relationship is complicated and she doesn’t know what to make of it. Through it all, I think she handled herself well. She didn’t give in or whine or really feel sorry for herself. She stayed as strong as possible and adapted to her new reality. I think it pretty much goes without saying that I loved Sean. He was mysterious and hot, protective and so complex. I wanted inside his head.

“You can’t let this define you… beat you.”

There’s so much that’s good about this book. It was fast-paced; a quick read. I loved the characters, the romance and the action. To say I’m anxiously awaiting the sequel is a giant understatement. I need it in my life, like, now. I have to see what happens next.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. All quotes come from the review copy and may differ from the final version. 

divider_bluegold

About Sophie Jordan

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

divider_bluegold

Kim Sig_edited-1

Tags: , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

2 responses to “In Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan