In Review: Beautiful Broken Mess (Broken #2) by Kimberly Lauren

Posted December 4, 2013 by Kim in 5 Stars, In Review / 0 Comments

In Review: Beautiful Broken Mess (Broken #2) by Kimberly LaurenBeautiful Broken Mess by Kimberly Lauren
Series: Broken #2
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Publication date: November 9, 2013
Publisher: Self-Published
Format: eARC, 238 pages
How I got it: From the author
Add it: Goodreads
Buy it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
My rating:

Jace Riley’s close connection with his identical twin brother, Jaxon, is put to the test when he tries to choose between keeping his promises and following his heart. Is this girl that still haunts his dreams, even after four years, really worth it? Jace can’t help but wonder if he made a huge mistake all that time ago when he let her walk into someone else’s arms, especially since that someone was his twin.

Audrey Mills often wonders at what point she should throw her hands up in defeat and allow all of the horrible circumstances of her life to overtake her. Despite the demons she has faced, however, something inside her won’t give in. When she leaves her small town in Texas to attend college in California, Audrey runs into the one guy who could make her or break her. But is the past they share too painful for them to overcome?

This is the second book in the broken series. While each book can stand on its own, it's recommended you read Beautiful Broken Rules before Beautiful Broken Mess.

New Adult/Adult Contemporary Romance - recommended for ages 18 and up.

In Review: My Thoughts

“To say it simply, my life is a broken mess. In the back of my mind, I often wonder if people are given a set number of obstacles they have to overcome before they die. If that were the case, then hopefully I’ve already hit my limit for this lifetime. Because no matter what I do or how I try to live my life, everything seems to come out wrong.”

Anyone who read Beautiful Broken Rules probably had the same thought I did upon reading the blurb for this book: ugh, Audrey. I’ll be the first to admit I wasn’t thrilled about her getting a book of her own because I found her absolutely detestable in the first book, despite the minor role she played. But, I trusted the author and knew there had to be a reason she was writing Audrey’s book. She had to have a redeemable quality or two. You guys. I absolutely loved Audrey in this book. Past indiscretions were explained and I realized just how wrong my initial impression was. Audrey was charming, lovable and awkward. She had a horrific past and my heart ached for her. Despite all of it –  or perhaps because of it, she was an incredibly strong woman.

“Call it the “White Knight Syndrome,” but there’s just something about a beautiful damsel in distress and I sure as hell want to be the one to save her.”

As much as I loved Jaxon in Beautiful Broken Rules, I think I love Jace more. In Beautiful Broken Rules, he came off as goofy. Charismatic and good at heart, but still goofy. Because part of this book is told from his perspective, I realized there is so much more to him. He is a wonderful man. He is loyal and protective and sexy as hell. He feels like he lives in his twin’s shadow – has always felt that way – but feels it more since Jaxon took away the one person Jace wanted, Audrey, all those years ago. But he sucked it up and moved on… until Audrey showed up in California. After he learns the truth and realizes the mistake they all made years ago, he can’t help but wonder what it would be like for her to be in his life again.

“But I’m starting to realize the weight this kind of information can have on someone. No one wants to be surprised with the fact that they are now completely vulnerable to another person. Now, whether you like it or not, you have to trust that this person won’t hand your heart back in a million tiny abused pieces.” 

But, nothing is ever easy. Jace and Audrey go through their share of ups and downs, misunderstandings and miscommunications. The chemistry between them was off the charts, no matter how hard they tried to fight it. They love scenes were hot and sexy, the romantic scenes sweet and the misunderstandings and miscommunications oh-so-very frustrating! Through it all, I just kept hoping these two could make it work. They were so obviously right for each other, and had things gone differently years ago, they would already be a couple! Timing is everything, but so is honesty. It’s a lesson they both learn.

Fans of Em and Jaxon will be pleased to know they play a pretty big role in this book. I know I was thrilled. I absolutely adored them and was so happy to learn more about their lives together. It was wonderful to see Em and Audrey become friends. The addition of Lane, Audrey’s best friend, was also welcome. Suddenly the girl who grew up with so little is surrounded by friends and love. It gave me a warm fuzzy feeling. While this book wasn’t all hearts and rainbows, it left me with a huge smile and a tear in my eye. I couldn’t have asked for anything different than what the author did. It was brilliant and beautiful.

If I wasn’t sure after Beautiful Broken Rules, I am now… Kimberly Lauren is one of my new favorite authors and has hit the auto-buy author list. Her writing is refreshing, her characters amazing and complex, her stories interesting and unique. I can’t wait for Lane’s story, Beautiful Broken Promises.

About Kimberly Lauren

Kimberly Lauren is the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Rules, Beautiful Broken Mess and Beautiful Broken Promises. Kimberly currently lives in Texas with her husband, son and their three dogs. She is a wanderer, an adventurer, and a traveler. She hasn’t seen it all but it’s on her list. Lately, if she’s not traveling or chasing a toddler she gets some time to write a book.

Kim

Tags: , , , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply